Board of Directors

Middlesex Hospital Alliance Board of Directors 2018-19

Bonnie Twyford – Ms. Twyford is the current Chair of the MHA Board of Directors. She was appointed to the Board in 2013.  She brings more than twenty years’ experience to the Board as an HR Generalist, in both the private and public sector.  She has had previous board experience with the Limberlost Chaplaincy, Human Resources Professionals of London & District, London Goodwill Industries and Committee experience with the Sexual Assault Centre of London and the Middlesex County Board of Education. Ms. Twyford lives in the community and has always had a keen interest in our health system and giving back to the community.

Neil MacLean – Mr. MacLean is the immediate past Chair of the MHA Board of Directors.  Neil is a senior leader in MNP’s national healthcare consulting practice.  He brings more than 20 years of health system leadership and governance experience to the Board through his roles in one of Canada’s largest teaching hospitals, as a founder and senior leader of the Ontario Telemedicine Network (OTN), and as an expert advisor on strategy, governance and information technology. Elected to the MHA Board in 2011, Neil has previously served as Chair of the Quality, Patient Safety and Risk Management Committee and the Governance Committee.  In addition to his roles with the MHA Board, he was elected to the Ontario Hospital Association’s (OHA) Board of Directors in 2016. Neil holds a PhD from Western University, an MBA from Laurier University and is a certified healthcare executive with the Canadian and American Colleges of Healthcare Leaders.

Ron McRae – Mr. McRae was appointed to the MHA Board of Directors in November 2013.  He is a chartered accountant with over 25 years of hospital experience in senior financial roles and since 2006, has been a consultant in the healthcare field.  Mr. McRae has served on many boards in the past including the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame and St. Joseph’s Health Care Foundation – London.   Currently he sits on the board of the Thames Valley Family Health Team and is a member of the Finance Committee for VON Middlesex-Elgin.  Mr. McRae is also a long time volunteer with the United Way of London & Middlesex.

Jonathon Barnett – Mr. Barnett is the Vice Chair on the MHA Board and Chair of the Governance Committee, and has served on the Board since September 2014.  Jon is an associate at Quinlan Hemeryck Barnett  in Strathroy, with a practice focus on agricultural law, corporate  and commercial law, real estate and estates and trusts.   He is an avid community volunteer and currently sits as a director on the London Run for Ovarian Cancer.

Sandy Whittall – Ms. Whittall joined the MHA Board of Directors in 2015, following retirement from a lengthy career in healthcare, both as a clinician and a senior manager.  She is a seasoned leader in healthcare, bringing extensive knowledge of hospital systems and their relationship to the community to MHA.   She is also an active volunteer in the community, having served as a Director on various Boards.

Major Roland Shea – Major Roland Shea is the Executive Director for The Salvation Army in Strathroy.  Major Shea has been a Salvation Army Officer/Pastor for approximately 40 years, providing spiritual assistance to our community.   He is an experienced and respected leader in our community, providing support and assistance to all.  Major Shea was appointed as a Director in 2015.

Catherine Osborne – Ms. Osborne returned to the MHA Board as a Director in 2016.  She is an accomplished relationship management and HR professional with a passion for developing, maintaining and participating in strategic business initiatives and supporting a corporate culture of trust, discipline and responsibility.  Catherine has lived in the Four Counties area her entire life and is an advocate for the rural community.

Melanie Stanley – Ms. Stanley served as a community member on the FCHS Local Advisory Committee since 2014.  She is an educator and currently is a Learning Supervisor with the Thames Valley District School Board.  Prior to that she served as Principal of Glencoe District High School from 2013-17.  Melanie joined the Board as a Director in 2018.

Jaclyn Cairns –  Ms. Cairns joined the MHA Board as a Director in 2019.  Jaclyn is a CPA, CA at Grant Thornton LLP as a Senior Tax Manager.  She also lectures at the University of Western Ontario, Richard Ivey School of Business.  Jaclyn currently sits on the Resources Committee of the MHA Board of Directors.

Nancy Naylor – Dr. Naylor joined the MHA Board as a Director in 2019 following her retirement as a physician for over 40 years in family practice and several other areas of medical expertise both in urban and rural settings.  She served on the inaugural board of Thames Valley Family Health Team from 2009-2012 and has also served on various other boards and was instrumental in establishing a breast screening program for mammography for the entire north shore of Northwestern Ontario (1990-94).  Dr. Naylor currently sits on the Quality, Patient Safety and Risk Management Committee of the MHA Board of Directors.

Doug Albion – Mr. Albion joined the MHA Board of Directors as a Community Member on the Resources Committee in 2016 and was appointed a Director on the Board in 2019.  Doug brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the MHA, having spent over 40 years overseeing the facilities and facilities development at London Health Sciences Centre prior to his retirement in 2014.

Ex-officio Members:

Todd Stepanuik, President & CEO

Rosemary Frketich, VP Patient Services/CNO

Alasdair Smith, VP Finance/CFO

Ian Ferguson, MD –  Dr. Ferguson is currently the Chief of Staff at MHA, assuming this position in June 2018.  Dr. Ferguson has held privileges at Strathroy Middlesex General Hospital (SMGH) since 1989.  He is a Urologist, and provides consultations in his office in Strathroy as well as providing surgical services at the hospital.

Jon Dreyer, MD – Dr. Dreyer started at Four Counties Health Services (FCHS) in 2002. He is currently the Deputy Chief of Staff at MHA and former Head of Emergency Medicine at London Health Sciences Centre and former ED Lead for the South West LHIN.

Kieraszewicz, Halina MD – Dr. Kieraszewicz joined Strathroy Middlesex General Hospital in 2008 as an Anesthetist.   In 2015, she became the Head of Anesthesia, providing guidance and leadership to the department.  Dr. Kieraszewicz is the current President of the MHA Medical Staff.